Standing in a privileged spot deep in the countryside at less than 10 km from San Sebastian, San Marcos Fort is most certainly the best vantage point in the Oarsoaldea Area.
It is an ideal place to spend the day with the kids and friends either walking, riding a horse or mountain- biking. It is also a great place to be in the open air with good weather in the cover of its bicentenaries stones, in thick walls of almost two meters, during winter or rainy days.
It was designed by the engineer Luis Nieva to face a new possible Carlist uprising, and the fort was opened on August 25th 1888. Its purpose was to defend a strategic area formed by the Port of Pasajes, the links by road and rail to the frontier of France, as well as roads leading to the capital of Gipuzkoa. This fort, along with the other of Txoritokieta and Guadeloupe, were part of the called “Oiartzun entrenched camp”. San Marcos Fort was oriented to the east in order to cope with possible invasions which came from the frontier. However, there were never invasions.
Nowadays it has no military use; it was occupied by the army until 1970, and today is integrated into the Nature Park of “Lau Haizeta”, forming part of a Park and Cultural Area. Its perfect location makes it an important and privileged viewer of the Gipuzkoa´s coast, where you can admire the famous bays of La Concha, Pasaia and Txingudi among other places of interest.
The fort is very well preserved and the rehabilitation of its fosse, the Parade ground, its drawbridge and the upper terrace, allow the visitor discover and enjoy it, as did the soldiers in 1888.
San Marko bidea, z/g